The German Association for Chronic Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (DACED) is a working group of the German Society for Digestive and Metabolic Diseases (DGVS). It serves the scientific exchange within basic science and clinical research in the field of IBD. The aim is to find causes of IBD and to improve the treatment of patients through coordinated and targeted research.

        There is a close collaboration with the Competence Network on Intestinal Diseases (Kompetenznetz Darmerkrankungen) as well as with the German IBD Study Group. Since 2011, the German representatives of the European Crohn’s- and Colitis Organization (ECCO) have been elected together with the Competence Network Intestinal Diseases.

        Since 2014, DACED has been integrated into the Competence Network for Intestinal Diseases. Accordingly, it provides two members in the board of the competence network. With the integration of the DACED, the non-clinical IBD research landscape is included in the competence network and thus the topic „IBD“ is represented in Germany across all areas by the competence network. The aim of the cooperation agreement is to support experimental and clinical work in the field of inflammatory bowel diseases across the network boundaries to strengthen research and to improve the care of IBD sufferers.


Board Members 2023
Board Member 2024

Dr. Florian Tran

Prof. Dr. Claudia Günther
Bildschirm­foto 2023-05-15 um 13.04.23
PD Dr. med Irina Blumenstein
2022 Prof. Dr. med Raja Atreya, Prof. Dr. med. Michael Scharl
2021 PD Dr. med. Michael Schumann
2019 Prof. Dr. med. Dominik Bettenworth, Prof. Dr. med. Samuel Huber
2018 Dr. med. Konrad Aden
2017 Prof. Dr. med. Sebastian Zeißig
2016 Prof. Dr. med. Anne Krug, Dr. med. Wolfgang Reindl
2015 PD Dr. med. Jonas Mudter, PD Dr. med. Clemens Neufert
2014 Dr. med. Jürgen Büning, Dr. med. Christian Sina
2013 PD Dr. med. Oliver Bachmann
2012 Prof. Dr. med. Christian Maaser
2011 PD Dr. med. Jan Wehkamp
2010 PD Dr. med. Tanja Kühbacher, PD Dr. med. Susann Nikolaus


Award Winner 2022 - Dr. Julian Schwärzler

The German Association for Chronic Inflammatory Bowel Diseases presented the Future Award for the 13th time at its 34th annual conference. This year’s award went to Dr. Julian Schwärzler from the University Clinic, Innsbruck. The EUR 7,500 prize is donated by Ferring Arzneimittel GmbH, Kiel, and is awarded annually for scientifically outstanding experimental or clinical-scientific work in the field of chronic inflammatory bowel diseases.

2022  |  2021  |  2019 2018  |  2017  |  2016  
2015  | 2014  |  2013  |  2012  |  2011  |  2010



DACED Annual Conference 

June 16 - 17, 2023

The Annual Conference is supported by